Merikasarmi, PO Box 176, 00023 Government, Finland
Switchboard: +358 295 16001
Contact information

Unit for Southern and Western Africa

The Unit for Southern and Western Africa (ALI-30)

• Prepares and coordinates Finland's political, trade political, commercial and development policy objectives, policies and positions, which concern Finland's relations with the countries, inter-regional organisations and other bodies and processes in the region;
• Promotes commercial and economic cooperation between Finland and the countries of the region, including Team Finland work;
• Defines the objectives of development cooperation, prepares and presents programmes and projects and handles them in the Ministry's internal coordination system, as well as takes care of their management and supervision;
• Handles matters relating to state and ministerial visits to and from the region, maintains contacts with the countries of the region through, for example, bilateral consultations, export promotion, and participation in multi-stakeholder negotiations and donor consultations that concern development cooperation;
• Prepares Finland's positions and represents Finland in EU working groups and committees dealing with matters concerning the region; develops the network of Finnish missions in the region and steers their work, among other things, by organising regional meetings, assessing the heads of missions' annual plans of action and holding annual consultations with them, and assessing the missions’ annual plans;
• Coordinates matters concerning the region with other departments of the Ministry, especially the Political Department, the Department for External Economic Relations, and the Department for Development Policy, including, as required, with other state administration bodies;
• Handles general political matters related to Finland and the EU and the countries of the region and formulation of related CFSP positions; focuses on the Sahel region and Sahel G5.
• Deals with horizontal questions concerning the continent, such as peace and security, migration, climate issues, radicalisation, general development questions

Regional organisations:
Southern African Development Community (SADC)
Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)


Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Togo, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Postal address:

Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Unit for Southern and Western Africa
PO Box 452

Visiting address:

Kanavakatu 3 B


Jouko Leinonen
  • Director
  • tel. work +358 295 351 344
Teija Tenhunen
  • Administrative Officer
  • tel. work +358 295 350 734
Saija Immonen
  • Assistant
  • tel. work +358 295 351 191
  • tel. work +358 9 160 564 29

Southern Africa Team

Sanna Halinen-Kaira
  • Team Leader, Southern Africa
  • tel. work +358 295 350 562
Jan Koivu
  • Programme Officer
  • tel. work +358 295 350 547

Mozambique Team

Tuulikki Parviainen
  • Team Leader, Mozambique, Angola, Swaziland
  • tel. work +358 295 350 550
Juhana Lehtinen
  • Desk Officer
  • tel. work +358 295 350 044

Zambia Team

Harri Sallinen
  • Team Leader, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi
  • tel. work +358 295 350 551
Marja Ahonen
  • Attaché
  • Assistant Desk Officer
  • tel. work +358 295 351 875

West and Central Africa Team

Mari Lankinen
  • Team Leader, West and Central Africa
  • tel. work +358 295 350 642
Juha Nieminen
  • Desk Officer, West and Central Africa
  • tel. work +358 295 351 368
E-mail addresses are in the form: Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.

This document

Updated 3/17/2018

Takaisin ylös