Merikasarmi, PO Box 176, 00023 Government, Finland
Switchboard: +358 295 16001
Contact information

Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP)

The Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy is responsible for:

  • participating in the preparation of the EU's Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and coordinating matters related to it in the Ministry and in the national preparation process
  • preparations for the EU Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) meetings, and coordinating the guidance given by the EU Political and Security Committee (COPS/PSC) and the Working Party of Foreign Relations Counsellors (RELEX)
  • tasks related to the work of the network of European Correspondents
  • following the circulation of messages concerning the EU's CFSP in the protected COREU communication network between the EU member states and institutions, and sending Finland's COREU communications (templates are prepared in the departments)
  • preparations for political consultations with EU member states
  • informing the Finnish Parliament on matters concerning the EU's CFSP


Visiting address:

Laivastokatu 22 A

Postal address:

Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Unit for European Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP)
PO Box 412


Sari Rautio
  • Director, European Correspondent, European correspondent
  • tel. +358 295 351 534
Matti Nissinen
  • Desk Officer, Foreign Affairs Council, Deputy European Correspondent
  • tel. work +358 295 351 780
Markus Räty
  • Desk Officer, Political and Security Committee (PSC/COPS)
  • tel. +358 295 351 596
Inari Timonen-Nissi
  • Assistant
  • tel. work +358 295 350 191
Laura Vanhanen
  • Attaché
Tanja Lahti
  • tel. work +358 295 350 127
E-mail addresses are in the form: Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a.

This document

Updated 2/19/2018

Takaisin ylös